Skip to content

July 4th Cupcakes and Collars by Chica and Jo.com

July 3, 2009
Fourth of July Cupcakes
and cupcake collars
by Chica and Jo

Chica and Jo invented a very clever DIY method for dressing up holiday cupcakes. Cupcake Collars! You can find the step-by-step tutorial on their website Chica and Jo.com.

First you make the tie dye cupcakes. Chica and Jo recommend Kathy Cano-Turillo’s method, which is detailed on her blog, Diary of a Crafty Chica. What fun! No two cupcakes will be alike.

The inside of a Tie Dye Cupcake
Photo from Chica and Jo.com

Chica and Jo designed three different cupcake collar templates for your July 4th cupcakes. The downloads are available on their blog. The third template appears in outline form. The kids can keep busy coloring their own cupcake collars while the cupcakes are baking.

Once the cupcakes are finished and the collars are in place, you can ice them your way or follow Chica and Jo’s frosting suggestions. Next step: You’re ready to show off these unique July 4th cupcakes!

The finished product can be viewed here.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Dorkys Ramos permalink
    July 3, 2009 2:39 pm

    What a sweet idea! I made cupcakes for the first time back on Valentine's Day and made them multilayered/colored. They came out surprisingly well!

    http://dryastoast.blogspot.com/2009/02/cupcake-remedy.html

    Stopping in from SITS!

  2. valentine permalink
    July 3, 2009 2:37 pm

    wow, i am lovin those cupcakes. so very patriotic and fun! thanks for stopping by, you totally made my day!!

  3. Being Brazen permalink
    July 3, 2009 2:32 pm

    yummy…such cute 4th July cupcakes

  4. thatgirlblogs permalink
    July 3, 2009 2:25 pm

    I love these and really want to make them for my daughter's birthday. Thanks!

    following you/grabbed your button

  5. Elizabeth permalink
    July 3, 2009 1:36 pm

    Wow, those are some awesome looking cupcakes!!! I've never tried tie-dye before, but I might just now! Thanks so much for visiting my blog today. Your blog is so adorable! I am totally following you now. Can't wait to see what you feature next!

  6. Juls permalink
    July 3, 2009 1:29 pm

    Oh my! I love those cupcakes..and I wish I could eat one right now! Patriotic and so yummy looking!
    🙂
    Thanks for stopping by my place… I'll definitely be snooping around here on a regular basis!

  7. Taking Heart permalink
    July 3, 2009 12:28 pm

    Your cupcakes are beautiful! Fun Fun! Happy 4th of July!

  8. Bear Bunch permalink
    July 3, 2009 12:18 pm

    I LOVE your blog but it always makes me hungry. LOL

  9. La Belle Mere UK permalink
    July 3, 2009 11:24 am

    Hi Zen Cupcake and fellow SITS member!

    Loving your site!! Great ideas for cupcakes!

    Thanks for following my blog to.

    Bec xx

  10. Fran permalink
    July 3, 2009 10:42 am

    Ms Cupcake, :o)

    Thank you for stopping by my blog! And your blog… So beautiful! I am following your blog now.

    Happy 4th of July! Have a great big holiday weekend!!

    Best,
    Fran

Leave a Reply

