Skip to content

Hostess 100 Calorie Cupcakes

February 8, 2009
Strawberry Cupcakes
100 calories

Twinkie Bites
100 calories

I admit I tried these. They were free. A vendor sent me coupons for a complimentary purchase.

The good:
The Strawberry Cupcakes

  • They are only 100 calories.
  • They are pink.
  • They were free.

Would I buy these? Honestly, no. Read the box. They contain saturated fat, lots of sodium and all the bad stuff we aren’t supposed to eat, like mucho preservatives. The “frosting” was flat and sticky. The cake was tasteless. These “cupcakes” are the size of a quarter.

Most people would eat two-three packs before satisfying their cupcake jones. Each box normally retails for about $4.00 a box. A cupcake from Bristol Farms or Crumbs Bake Shop is equal in volume to a box of the Hostess 6-pack and lightyears superior in taste, quality of ingredients and emotional cupcake satisfaction.

Me, if I am gonna consume a few hundred calories, I would prefer to eat a real honest to good delicious cupcake with yummy frosting and work it off at the gym or skip a meal. Sure bakery cupcakes have fat and sugar but they don’t pack their product with loads of chemicals I can’t pronounce. It’s a choice between high quality and junk food.

The Twinkies?
Ditto. See, above.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jackie permalink
    February 9, 2009 3:26 am

    I saw these in the store and was tempted to buy them because I love anything strawberry. Guess maybe I won’t. thanks for the review.

  2. Teresa R permalink
    February 8, 2009 8:46 pm

    I totally agree! Why waste the calories on junk? 🙂

Leave a Reply

