Skip to content

Twirl Ballerina Twirl Cupcakes

June 5, 2008

When I was a little girl I wanted to be a ballerina. After school I would walk to my ballet class clutching my plastic ballet case with my tights and ballet slippers and dream of being a Prima Ballerina one day. In fact, I never cut my hair until I was twelve years old because all ballerinas had long hair. And, I wanted to be a ballerina.

A childhood memory of my seldom seen mother took place at a Lincoln Center Christmas show. I can still remember the tall slyph-like ballerinas floating across the stage in Swan Lake. When I asked my mom if I would grow up to look like those ballerinas, with a long graceful neck and slim endless limbs, she said, “No. You have to be born like that.” We came from a long line of short-fat-ass peasants. But the afternoon still had a happy ending. In consolation, Mommy and me stopped for a slice of New York Cheesecake and a mug of steaming hot chocolate before we made our long walk home. Even when faced with the cruel reality of genetics, I still dreamed of being a ballerina.


I danced my little heart out, but I never got picked for a lead in the recital. Fat little girls are told to try for a role in the chorus. My ballerina dreams never came true, but they’ve never been forgotten. Sometimes, when I’m alone I twirl around with feigned grace and pretend. Life is a stage.

Photos by Sweet Poppy

My favorite cupcake topper? You guessed right. The plastic ballerina. I like the one with the *pink* tutu best. I like pink. I found these in Sweet Poppy’s Etsy’s store. They’re all mine!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Malone Family Christmas permalink
    December 23, 2008 11:17 pm

    Very sweet story. I’m sure you were a cute little ballerina.

  2. Vicky permalink
    December 10, 2008 8:01 pm

    Where did you find these plastic ballerinas? I can’t find them in a local store. We have to oorder online and wait for delivery.Vicky

Leave a Reply

