Skip to content

SusieCakes-Newport Beach

May 31, 2008
SusieCakes
Newport Beach

I adore cupcakes. They’re cute, fun and throwback to childhood when a simple pleasure such as a cupcake made everything in the pink again.

As I was driving along Westcliff Drive, yesterday a sign caught my eyes. It said “SusieCakes.” As in Susie CUPCAKES. Apparently I never received the memo. They’ve been open five weeks.

SusieCakes and I made our acquaintance yesterday. The store is retro cute. They sell unique greeting cards and cupcake gifts. The clerks are young and very friendly. Customer service is a big plus with me. My choices? It was difficult. The coconut and monthly special, Peanut Butter and Jelly were my choices. I bought one of each.

Truth be told, I am no foodie and certainly no gourmet. I either like something or I don’t. These I REALLY liked. That says a lot. I ate a 1/4th of the coconut. It was very moist and delicious. Not too sweet. Enjoyed it immensely. Later that night I had a chunk of the Peanut Butter and Jelly cupcake. Loved it. Both flavors are frosting filled. Not sloppy gooey. Just the right sized dollop of frosting, which makes for a moist and tasty treat.

The rest of my two cupcakes are in the freezer until my next cupcake day. A cupcake fix motivates me to exercise. No work out. No cupcake. Life is about equilibrium.

Newport Beach is becoming upscale cupcake heaven. First, Sprinkles. Now SusieCakes.

Life is good.

Related Posts:

Zen Cupcake: Zen Cupcake Moment: Making History

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

